Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking to Buy Good, Affordable Euphonium

1. Looking to Buy Good, Affordable Euphonium

Hi,
    I am a high school student who plays the euphonium in band and as a hobby. I am looking for an affordable compensating euphonium with good intonation, sound, and durability to buy before I graduate. So far I am most interested in the JP247 and Wessex Dolce.
    Does anyone have any experiences with either of these horns?
    I have heard nothing but good things about the JP247, but am wondering if the Wessex would be a worthy way to save a couple hundred dollars.

2. If you have an other euphonium model to recommend, please do.

Personally, between those two models, I’d choose the JP274. All of our euphonium-playing music majors at my local college play on them. They are a great value.

They seem to be a bit hard to come by as of late (at least in the US).
    Groups
    Valley City Community Band
    Valley City State University Concert Band
    2024 North Dakota Intercollegiate Band (you're never too old!)

Larry Herzog Jr.

All things EUPHONIUM! Guilded server

In addition to the instruents you mentioned, also consider the compensating euphonium at musicstore.com. From a financial point of view it is the best buy. Mack Brass is also a good vendor. The two vendors I just mentioned sell instruments based on the Jin Bao 1150, which is nominally a Yamaha clone. I believe they are also quite similar to the Wessex Dolce.

I believe Wessex and Mack Brass help support this web page, and that's worth considering.

Quote Originally Posted by massmanute View Post
    I believe Wessex and Mack Brass help support this web page, and that's worth considering.
    For the record, Wessex has been a long-time supporter of the site. So far Mack Brass has not responded to my invitation.
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden