Thread: Euphonium ID

Question Euphonium ID

First of all, I'm new to brass instruments. I just bought a second (or third or fourth or nth) hand euphonium. I saw it and loved it, don't know why. It has a Salvationist Publishing and Supplies imprint. The serial # is 30781. It indicates an address: London, UK, Judd St. Does anyone know the date of its manufacture? It is quite dinged up too and silver plated (I'm guessing) with the brass look on the inside of the horn. What is its approximate worth, considering its dented condition? Also, it came with a massive mouthpiece, almost a shooter glass shape. This seems strange. The instrument is also imprinted with the words "Super Triumphonic". I am having a hard time figuring out much about this instrument and I would love to know more about it.

I'm hoping Charley Brighton (forum username "highams") will chime in on this one. He is the expert on such things. I don't know the history of the SA horns, but they are similar to Besson/Boosey instruments in many ways.

In the meantime check out Charley's website. There are some links you might enjoy:
    http://www.euphonium.webspace.virginmedia.com/page1.htm

Or try to shoot him a PM on the forum. I don't know how often he checks in, but he'd be happy to answer your questions, I'm sure.
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC4)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium