Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: YEP321S Mouthpiece Upgrade?

1. YEP321S Mouthpiece Upgrade?

This is a health-related question.

I'm a novice player, large build, age 74, using the standard Yamaha mouthpiece supplied with this horn, labelled as "Yamaha Canada 48". I'm interesting in recommendations for mouthpieces which mainly help with high register. I am at risk for glaucoma, and keeping inter-occular (eye) pressures lower is my chief concern. i'm quite happy to compromise on coloration or lower register issues.

FYI, the YEP321S is medium bore 14.5-15.5mm (0.571-0.610")

Thanks!
    Paul
    Canada
    Last edited by PaulCan; 12-13-2022 at 09:35 AM.

Hi Paul and welcome to the forum. I’m trying to remember what mpc Yamaha offers with its 321 model. I think it’s Yamaha 48 but not sure. Maybe a Wick 6BY mpc might work for you.
    Rick Floyd
    Miraphone 5050 - Warburton BJ / RF mpc
    YEP-641S (recently sold)
    Doug Elliott - 102 rim; I-cup; I-9 shank

"Always play with a good tone, never louder than lovely, never softer than supported." - author unknown.
    Symphonic Band of the Palm Beaches
    El Cumbanchero (Raphael Hernandez, arr. Naohiro Iwai)
    Chorale and Shaker Dance
    (John Zdechlik)

3. Hi Rick,

Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, the mouthpiece is labelled "Yamaha Canada 48". Can you be specific on why the 6BY might be well-suited to my situation?

thx Paul