Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Meadsprings worth it? Potential fix for valve noise?

Meadsprings worth it? Potential fix for valve noise?

I have a Jupiter JEP1020S that has a rattling/scratching sound when using the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th valves, Im a no expert when it comes to euphoniums but it seems to be caused by the springs. Instead of just sitting around, I feel like it would be better to just consider this an upgrade and get new springs. I have seen on this forum and on other reviews that meadsprings are pricy, but are a nice upgrade, and the same with yamaha springs. It appears that the meadsprings have a plastic cover/wrap that make them almost completely silent, so I think that those are the ones I will go with. Im wondering what anyone else thinks about this, and whether these springs will fit on my euphonium?

There is always the chance that it is something other than the springs, but I cant think of anything else.

The image is my 4th valve/spring
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 69B55F6E-2FB7-4BCA-A1AC-9D32BFA6AE9E.jpeg  
    Last edited by Luke Born; 12-13-2022 at 04:15 PM.

It depends on the positioning of the springs inside the cylinder which rub on the wall of the same. I had the same problem on the Courtois 165, not a big deal, but annoying. To get around this, I bent the spring slightly to one side and looked for the position that made it silent by turning it from side to side or turning it upside down, not that it was a great system but, at the time, the only one that came to mind . Steven Mead's springs could be the solution having a double conical shape with a Teflon coating. I've had them on my Prestige for a few years and I must say they are a great product.
    2007 Besson Prestige 2052, 3D+ K&G mouthpiece; JP373 baritone, 4B modified K&G mouthpiece; Bach 42GO trombone, T4C K&G mouthpiece; 1973 Besson New Standard 3 compensated valves, 3D+ K&G modified mouthpiece; Wessex French C tuba, 3D+ K&G modified mouthpiece.