Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Switching from performance to education?

Post Switching from performance to education?

So I am currently a senior in high school, and I have already applied to UNT under performance for trombone (yes I know this is a tuba-euphonium forum), but since I am still really new to trombone so I can pursue music (switch from euphonium), I am scared of the fact that I will not be good enough for the high expectations of being a performance major. Now, I really want to pursue performance, but I also wouldn't mind teaching, and I honestly wouldn't have a problem being a band director in the future. So, how hard would that transition from performance to education be if I somehow realize performance might not be my best option?

I’m not familiar with UNT specifically…however, I DO know literal dozens of people who started off as music performance majors and switched to music education. It’s quite common.

I’m curious though. Why not pursue a euphonium performance major? (As a low brass player, doubling on trombone is quite common…I don’t know a euphonium player that doesn’t double on trombone. )
    Groups
    Valley City Community Band
    Valley City State University Concert Band
    2024 North Dakota Intercollegiate Band (you're never too old!)

Larry Herzog Jr.

All things EUPHONIUM! Guilded server