Thread: Steven Mead

1. Steven Mead

Hello everyone,

I have recently been reading this superb thesis by Robert Pendergast (https://fsu.digital.flvc.org/islando...tream/PDF/view) which got me thinking about my first lesson with Steven Mead which took place in January 2012 and it got me thinking about the huge impact that Steven Mead has had on the Euphonium Community where pretty much everyone has their own story to tell about an encouter with Steve.

I wanted to start a thread to share these positive stories in the hope that we could perhaps start a threat sharing our moments and encounters with Steven Mead.

I look forward to reading some of your stories.

Best Wishes,

Micah Dominic Parsons

Hi Micah,

Thanks for the kind words. I am by no means a professional writer, but I'm glad you found the treatise interesting. I'm thankful that Steve shared so much of his time for the numerous interviews. He has been a major influence on me in terms of sound, phrasing, and work ethic. I'm immensely grateful for the time I was able to study with him at the Royal Northern College of Music.

Robert Pendergast, DM

3. Hello Robert,

I have to admit that since I first discovered your work on Steven Mead it has really fascinated me and each time I read through it I always spot something new. I would love to see what would be included if you were to publish this thesis or update it. I have to admit your thesis is one of the most valuble resources that I am able to access.

I really hope you are keeping well and I hope we will be able to catch up soon.

Best Wishes,

Micah Dominic Parsons
    Last edited by Micah.Dominic.Parsons-OFFLINE; 03-20-2021 at 02:44 PM.

So, first time (and only time so far) I met Steven Mead was at a workshop day (with a concert with the brass band it was organised by in the evening) when I was... 14 years old I believe (gosh that's already 10 years ago, I'm getting old).