Thread: Wobbly Sound

1. Wobbly Sound

I don't know how best to describe this, so here goes. I just started playing the euphonium (I've been playing clarinet for a long time).

There is nothing so wonderful or so beautiful as the euphonium. Best of all, it doesn't squeak. Love it.

I've searched the web for an answer to this question. When I play some notes, I get this sloppy, un-centered, wobbly tone. I'm improving every day.

Normally, I would ask a euphonium teacher (not many in Kentucky) to show me how to fix this. Unfortunately, COVID prevents that.

Assuming the problem centers on my embouchure, are there any embochure warm-ups I should play every day?

Thanks.

Summerfield, Florida Sturgis, SD (summers)
    Welcome to the forum, mmatisoff!! In case no one has said that yet.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, but in this case, a video (with sound) might be very useful. Are there any particular notes that are giving your trouble (i.e, low notes, high notes, any notes)?

If you have notes that sound good to you, then try playing those notes (long tones) and then move either up or down to the next higher/lower note and try to get the same good sound. If you are just beginning with euphonium, you will have many starts and stops so to speak. But try to get a good regimen going. Start each practice session with some long tones. Then perhaps some slurs. Then work on scales. Learn a couple of the major scales (learn them all eventually and minors) and play these up and down with different articulations (slurring, tonguing, different rhythms, different tempos). Try to play two octaves on each scale. Get a book with nice melodies in it and play one of those every time you practice. Get a sound that you would like to hear.