Thread: Salvation Army Triumph Euphonium

1. Salvation Army Triumph Euphonium

Hello everyone,

A number of years ago, Steven Mead had an old Salvation Army Triumph Euphonium full restored and this has inspired me to undertake a similar project. I have been asking around various places for quite a few years now.

My aim is to restore the Euphonium and then put my research together into a living history impression. I hope one day to own a collection of Euphonium's including a Besson Sovereign 967 but this will be part of the bigger picture.

I was hoping to ask the incredible members on this forum if they had any leads or places which I could explore.

Best Wishes,

Micah Dominic Parsons

2. Hi Micah,

Very cool that you're wanting to do this! I can't help with where to find one, but they are definitely still around if you are patient...

I picked one up fairly recently myself, and it is currently being restored. They do play well and are lovely instruments, although curiously, mine played well when I first got it until I cleaned it a few times. All the grime and muck that had built up over the years was blocking the inevitable holes and leaks, and the cleaning caused it to play worse due to the extra leaks that were exposed. And as you may know, the valves were never particularly good with these instruments, so they are being rebuilt as well. Much like the level Steven Mead went to. Mine has 3 valves, not 4.

It's hard to get a real idea of just how compact these are until you see it being held and played. My primary horn is actually a 967, and it's a very different shape and layout to this!