Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Note naming conventions

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. Note naming conventions

Hello, I wanted to ask a question about certain names of notes. I’m a beginner and I can read Bass clef well, but I often hear others saying things about “high F” “High C”, and I was wondering what these all meant. Or sometimes I see something like “start playing or tuning to C#”. And whenever these names are mentioned I just get confused. It seems to be something that is just learned, the names of specific notes, as I’ve never had these names explicitly explained to me. If someone could explain what all these notes are on the bass clef I’d appreciate it!

2. Common question in other forums. Also one to likely get you into treble.
    Richard

King 1130 Flugabone
    King 2280 Euphonium
    King 10J Tuba
    Conn 22B Trumpet

That's a good question, actually, and we DO get confusing in how we talk. I'm especially guilty because I can never remember what a C2 is vs a C3 for example.

So in concert-pitch bass clef, this is how *I* talk about it:

I use the "absolute" word "low" to cover notes starting at 2nd line Bb and going down nearly an octave. When I say "low F" I mean the F just under the bass clef staff.

The next Bb (below the 2nd ledger line under that staff) begins the "pedal" range.

I use the "absolute" word "high" to cover the Bb an octave above the bass clef and the notes above it. So I would say a "high F" to mean the one above "high Bb."

I use the "relative" word "upper" as a convenience. For example, we have 2 F's between the range I designate as low and high, one on the 4th line and one on top of the 2nd ledger line above the staff. So I might refer to the latter as your "upper F".

That may not be a comprehensive list of my personal terms!