Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with ID

Help with ID

Hi All,
    I am not sure if I can post more than 1 image per post...I'm gonna try so that this question is all in one post.

1st....is this a baritone horn....it has about 9ft of tubing and is pitched in Bb.

2nd...according to what I see on the Conn Loyalist site, a baritone with 3 top valves, and bell up is a Model 64I.....the bell looks narrower on my horn and does not look like the 64I pictured there. I am confused after looking at hundreds of images.

This horn is about 20 inches long and the bell is 8.25 inches across.

Made in 1942.

Thanks for your help! I'm new at horn IDs !
    Bill
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20200721_174354.jpg   20200721_174508.jpg  

2. The model should be on the lead pipe.
    Richard

King 1130 Flugabone
    King 2280 Euphonium
    King 10J Tuba
    Conn 22B Trumpet

3. Richard

King 1130 Flugabone
    King 2280 Euphonium
    King 10J Tuba
    Conn 22B Trumpet

Bb tenor horn. Essentially the same instrument that would be called a baritone if it were made by Boosey & Hawkes. Rare in american bands by the 1940s, but not unheard of.

My recollection is that these got an "F" letter in the model rather than the "I" you'd see on baritone/euphonium.
    --
    Barry

Thanks! This is helpful. Thr pic by Richard III shows an instrument that is more conical than mine and the amount of bell above the leadpipe is much greater. Different bells different coils different squiggly bits. ?.... makes you crazy! LOL! I'll look at the leadpipe, I may have missed something.

Nothing on the leadpipe.

7. Richard

King 1130 Flugabone
    King 2280 Euphonium
    King 10J Tuba
    Conn 22B Trumpet