Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Wessex Sinfonico?

Wessex Sinfonico?

Hi, Im fairly new to euphonium and have been playing on a Vintage 1967 B&H Imperial provided by my school. I have had a very good experience with the horn, however I need to start looking into a horn of my own. I originally wanted the Wessex Dolce (Which I have heard amazing things about) But recently my budget increased up to the Sinfonico range. I have heard it is a high step above the Dolce in quality. I also really like it's "chubbier" design and the copper accents. Is this a good euphonium?

There is some info in the forum about the horn.
    http://www.dwerden.com/forum/showthr...o#.XwPlES2ZM_U

Also, look up Algirdas Matoniz on Youtube playing it and discussing the horn
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHfrS-Puin4&t=517s
    John 3:16

Conn Victor 5H Trombone
    Yamaha 354 Trombone
    Conn 15I Euphonium

Thank you, I thought there was only the one about the IET prototype.

Are you buying the Sinfonico new? If you are in that price range, you are in the price range of used pro level euphoniums by Besson, Boosey & Hawkes, and others. I think Dillon Music has a B&H Imperial for sale right now.
    Sterling / Perantucci 1065HGS Euphonium, 1952 B&H Imperial Eb Tuba, and a bunch of trombones.

At that point look at the used market too, I've seen some sterling virtuosos and an XO Euphonium get sold around that range.

I actually really liked the sinfónico. I preferred it to several “pro” horns that cost 2 to 3 times as much when I was playing horns at the most recent tuba/euph workshop. It’s a crazy amount of horn for the money. It played a little like the Adams models, if you’ve ever tested those. It played very easily and was a solid improvement from the dolce, which I already liked and won a gig in the USMC fleet bands on. From what I remember, wessex had a great return policy if you didn’t like the horn. Which may or may not be the case for a used horn.
    Alex S