As the title suggests, I have spent some time thinking about practice mutes. A quick search on 'practice mute' in this forum's search field returns like six pages of hits. Practice mutes have been discussed quite a bit before now. I do believe I have some original experience with these devices that may be interesting to some: re: resistance ... backpressure ... a lot of you have returned highly rated mutes to retailers as having excessive resistance. Full disclosure: the experiment(s) I describe below were performed using a Horn as the brass instrument being muted. I see no reason why the findings should not cross over to other brass instruments.

About a year ago I bought a model of French Horn mute called the 'Pampet Horn Mute'. It is one of those where all the air goes through the mute and exits through a single port on top of the mute. It mutes VERY effectively. Intonation in the top octave is markedly flat, neutral in the middle octave and only slightly sharp in the low octave. Pedal octave is more or less non-existent. Resistance was moderate. Here's the thing though ... I often play Horn with one of those -30db snore stopper drugstore ear plugs in my right ear. When you play Horn in a small space, the direct sound from the bell to your right ear makes it difficult to judge your sound.