Thread: Eastman 826S Euphonium

Eastman 826S Euphonium

Hi Dave......wondering if you have any comment about this instrument, the last review I can find by you is a while ago and involved the 526 model, so I`m assuming that the 826 is the latest incarnation.

A professional teacher here in Australia speaks highly of the brand & this model but was wondering what your thoughts are as my budget is limited and will not stretch to Besson Prestige/Sovereign/Willson etc...……..have tried Wessex and not happy with the continual valve issues.

No experience on an Eastman of that model.

I'm curious about the Wessex 'valve issues'; How does that manifest? They have an unconditional warranty on their horns, so I'm not sure what is the problem, unless it wasn't your horn and therefore not your issue to have it fixed/replaced.

Dennis

I have no experience with the Eastman, but Matt van Emmerik surely like his!

Valve issues: what was your previous instrument? If the Wessex was your first compensating horn, it may not be a horn problem. Compensating horns in general have tighter valves, and the valves are more complex (more ports). It is unusual to find valve troubles that are not related in some way to cleaning. I'm currently going nuts trying to keep my valves working. They look clean, but I know there is something polluting them. It's probably some kind of greasy deposit, possibly slide grease that sneaked in. When I switched on one valve to Blue Juice instead of Hetmann, it started working much better for a couple days. The Blue Juice probably cut through the grease a bit better.

I'm waiting for a warm day so I can take it outside and give it a good flushing. That will fix it, I'm confident. Perhaps there was something like that with your Wessex???
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden