Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Don't like the 51D on my Mack Euphonium

1. Don't like the 51D on my Mack Euphonium

Hi! I have been playing on my Mack Euphonium for four years now. I am a senior in high school and my band is a nationally ranked band program. I have been playing on my horn with a 51D for about a year and half now and I really don't like my mouthpiece. I know there are a ton of options out there, and it just depends. But I have two problems. I love my horn and don't want to change it
    1. first off let me say it's not a problem with my air support. My air support is pretty good. I feel like I have to put an absurd amount of air through my mouthpiece and because I have a compensating horn I have to put a lot of air through it. So I need a mouthpiece that will let me put a lot of air through it. I guess I'm saying I have a lot of backpressure.
    2. I tend to press really hard and get a ring around my lips so would a gold plated mouthpiece be better?
    I want to spend max ~ $150
    I'm looking at a steven mead or maybe even an alliance mouthpiece but I am not sure what size does anyone have any advice? Thank you in advance!!

Welcome to the forum!

I don't have a lot of answers, but I can say the 51D is not made to handle as much airflow as some other mouthpieces. For some people that's a good thing, because it makes it easier to play for them.

Gold plating affects how "slippery" the mp feels on your lips and it is good for people with allergies to certain metals, but that's about it. You'll get just as much of a ring on your lips.

You may like a mp with a more round inner edge on the rim. The Wick 4AL classic is one such. The Ultra and Heritage models from Wick feel sharper on the rim. A sharper rim gives you better articulation, but it won't be as comfortable. The 4AL is what I use, and for years it was the standard mp shipped with Bessons. It would be one good place to start.