Thread: Help a clueless college student on flying with new instrument

Help a clueless college student on flying with new instrument

Hello,

I'm an incoming college freshman and just bought my own instrument(Yamaha 842TS). I'm fairly clueless on how to go about choosing a case to travel with and the logistics of it all even after reading several threads on this forum. I do not trust checking the instrument at all since a nearby high school had a Sovereign damaged a few years back(in a Besson case). I'm travelling to Hartford, CT for college and chose Southwest as I know I can get overhead space without an issue. I would only like to bring one case to college and preferably have the case with backpack straps since I'll be lugging it around in the snow for a mile and carrying it on buses 3 times a week. My worry here is that I find a gig bag I like and then I am forced to check the instrument, leading to damage. Can I also get kind of a step by step with dealing with TSA? I really like the look and practical aspect of the Fusion bag for me(https://www.fusion-bags.com/products...honium-gig-bag) as it has the backpack straps and has plenty of storage space which I would need with carrying this instrument around for college. I'd like y'all's thought on the Fusion bag and assurances that it would fit my instrument as well as the overhead bin. If not, I'm open to any suggestions!

Thank you for your time!

I've seen some older Fusion bags do not-so-well in the durability department, but the new ones look like they will be better. Note this comment in one of the reviews (which I believe I have also heard from the manufacturer):

Bag is very good, but little bit small for my daughters Jupiter xo-euphonium (large bell). Without inner bag it fits fine.
    Without the inner bag you would lose some protection I assume.

For soft bags, the leather Chronkhite is the industry leader. Many pros use it.