Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Willson 2950 vs 2900

Willson 2950 vs 2900

Hello all,
    I’ve recently received both a used 2950 and a used 2900 through Baltimore Brass, with the intention of shipping one back. I’m a musician in a Marine Corps fleet band and have auditioned for the last couple of premier band spots, without success(I’m not blaming the equipment though, I’m not at that level of musicianship yet).

They both play well and I could see myself playing either comfortably and consistently if I had the time put in on them. The 2950 is more compatible with a large sounding more “transatlantic” dark sound. With the 2900 having soo much core and clarity (I didn’t fully grasp what Dr. Bowman meant by having core to the sound until I played it). I’m leaning towards the 2900, but I’m not sure if that’s due to internet research and the sheer number of endorsements inside and outside of DC or because the smaller horn is actually better for me. I’m curious what the opinions of the forum members are.

*if anyone wants to my strongest sound influences they’d be :
    Jukka Myllys (the linkola is my favorite euphonium piece and recording)
    Col. Colburn (im upset he only has one album, it’s perfect)
    MSgt Jenkins (that excerpt CD is great)
    Demondrae
    Ben Pierce
    and many more, but those are the strongest.

Welcome to the forum!

I like your descriptions of the 2900/50. We have similar impressions. The main asset I find in the 2900 is that it is very, very consistent sounding from low range to high range. However, that for me is also its main drawback. The sound is always "this." But supposed I want the sound to be "that" for a while. I'm not saying I can't make it be "that" but I have a very hard time doing so. It interferes with my overall concept of what a euphonium should be. I want a horn that allows me to color the character of the sound a bit depending on the character of the music I'm playing.