Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Old, old, OLD, and trying to get back in.

Old, old, OLD, and trying to get back in.

I’m a retired music teacher, bought myself a plastic pBone at Christmas, and quickly realized that what was missing from my life was tuba/euphonium.
    I am of the generation that was told that “women don’t play tuba”, and instead WAS allowed to play bass clarinet REALLY WELL through H.S. and college, and became a voice major since “nobody majors on bass clarinet”. I had the usual single semester of orchestral brass in college.
    I am a competent sight reader and team player, and my goals for 2019 are first, to play in a very reasonable sounding local community band and second, to participate in December in one or both of two local TubaChristmases.
    Since I already have my plastic trombone, I could be talked into a plastic euphonium or tuba too, but realizing that they have limitations, I also look at dealers of real brass instruments online.
    I do need to address some infuriating physical limitations including deforming arthritis of my left pointer finger and slightly less inflammation in the middle finger of my right hand. No problem that I can imagine with either valves or rotors. I also look for light and small, and would love to know more about the Wessex Bubbie 5.
    Still looking for a low brass teacher, but seem to be progressing on the trombone. Still doing OKish on my own with my trombone.
    Doing this right is VERY Important to me. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Hi 'annreid'. Welcome to the forum. There are a number of professional female tubists now. Sexism is dead... or getting there anyway. Whether you decide on euphonium or tuba is up to you of course. Wessex makes some very fine euphs and tubas. Don't know much about the 'bubbie 5' however, sorry. Maybe Jonathan will chime in here.

If your location on the east coast is the 'N.E. coast' (NJ, NY, etc) there should be lots of suggestions for private teachers.
    Rick Floyd