Thread: After-market trigger on the XO 1270

Question After-market trigger on the XO 1270

Please excuse me if this seems like an odd question,

Has anyone attempted to install an after-market trigger onto the XO 1270? I am a freshman euphonium performance major and in the market to upgrade from my Yamaha YEP-321S. The XO looks very promising in terms of intonation and particularly price (not to mention my studio teacher is a sponsored artist), but personally I am a huge proprietor of triggers. Even if the horn is perfectly in equal temperament (which doesn't seem possible since the harmonic series is just intonation), I'd still love a trigger to tune with other instruments on the spot (particularly something like a CC Tuba, whose "bad notes" are next to a euph's "good ones"). The reason I ask is because something like the MTP trigger is only guaranteed to fit an MTP, Besson, Yamaha or Willson horn, so I don't know if this is even possible.

My apologies for such a long post, but I appreciate you reading!
    Noah

Welcome to the forum! I'll let others address your main question (because I have no experience with aftermarket triggers).

Remember that a trigger only pulls a pitch down. If you are flat on certain notes or compared to certain instruments, the trigger can't help you.
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium

Although I don't play an XO I was considering having a trigger added to my M5050 some years ago. I spoke with Mike Morse, brass tech at Tuba Exchange. He said it could be done but the legs of the MTS (main tuning slide) have to be perfectly parallel for it to work well. After thinking about awhile I decided against it.
    Rick Floyd
    Miraphone 5050 - Warburton BJ / RF mpc
    YEP-641S (recently sold)
    Doug Elliott - 102 rim; I-cup; I-9 shank