Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to get?

1. What to get?

Ive been playing euphonium for about 10 years now , and was majoring in euphonium performance until I had to leave due to financial issues.
    I plan on going back to study performance again in about 2-3 years time , so Im looking to get a budget euphonium to use until then. I generally practice 2-3 hours a day and try to flesh out as much as I can out of my practice time , so I don’t want to get a horn thats gonna have too many tuning issues.

Once Im back in school I plan on purchasing an Adams E2 Custom , which Ive had my heart set on it since I played it a little over a year ago . I loved the response and the soaring high register it had .

Is there anything similar to the E2 in terms of playability and response thats around 1000-3000 ?
    I’ve been looking into the Wessex and even the Besson New standard 165.
    Personally though, if the New standard is anything like it’s professional counterpart (2052) I wouldn’t like it too much because it didn’t have that warm sound that I got on the E2 or the Wilson 2900S.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Euph6052; 09-26-2018 at 07:03 AM.

2. Well,

the Wessex and even the Besson New standard 165 cannot be compared with the Adams which is a professionnal version.
    How can you dare such a comparison ?

I suggest to compare Adams E2 with top instruments as Adams builds top instruments :
    Besson Prestige BE2051 / 2052
    Geneva Oldroyd Cardinal or Glenn Van Looy
    Miraphone M5050 ...
    Yamaha YEP-842S

There are other brands like York, Willson that matches Adams products.

If you mean you can afford between 1000-3000 $ so you may try buying used euphoniums instead of bad new ones.
    Last edited by RobBartom; 09-26-2018 at 01:54 PM.