Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on a second tuba

1. Advice on a second tuba

I've been thinking about getting a second tuba, and I'm looking for some advice from all of you experienced players. Please excuse my long-winded personal story, but here goes.

I am not at all a professional musician, and won't ever be. I'm a pretty good pianist and play the piano nearly every day, and "perform" almost every weekend as the accompanist for my church choir. But for me it's never going to be a job, and I'm never going to be auditioning for a professional group...it's just what I love to do.

When my daughter started band a few years ago, I got out my old trumpet from middle school and messed around a bit. I realized that I never really liked playing high brass. Cruising around the internet, I realized for the first time (can't believe I never learned this as a kid) that I could play euphonium/baritone in treble clef without learning new fingerings. I bought a used 3-valve Jupiter euphonium on Craigslist and fell in love with it.

A year or so later, I sold the Jupiter and bought a Mack Brass compensating 4-valve euphonium, and man, I couldn't believe what I'd been missing. If I'd had this horn as a kid, I would never have quit playing brass. I started to think about getting a tuba too, but I was only playing TC euphonium and had not had much luck attempting BC fingerings. I can READ either clef easily...as a pianist this has been second nature since I was about 8 years old. But even with Dave's transposing technique on here, I just couldn't break through. When I see an F in bass clef or treble clef, I think F, and my fingers think "first valve", et cetera. So--I bought a Mack Brass CC tuba.