Thread: Besson 967 intonation question

1. Besson 967 intonation question

First off.... I'm new here to post, but have been sifting through different threads and reading up on a lot of stuff. Nice community for the tuba-euph players of the world.

I've been playing my 967 since 2002. If I remember correctly that was right before the transition to the German made horns. Mine is still stamped London. I have a suspicion that the quality was dipping during this time period. Besides that... I've noticed that this horn plays consistently sharp. If I'm doing an outside concert in summer, that tuning slide is darn near all the way pulled out. I understand the heat and humidity are effecting this, but it's real difficult to play in tune if it's not cold.

Do they make a longer main tuning slide for the 967s? Is that even a good idea to put in a longer tuning slide? I play on a SM4UX, but it doesn't matter what mouthpiece goes in, still sharp all the time.

2. I also used to own a Besson 967 made in 2002, and it was wicked sharp at the 6th partial and upwards no matter which mouthpiece I used. Unfortunately I believe that was one of Besson's off years when it came to quality control.

I ended up selling it and switching to a Sterling Virtuoso, which has good intonation across the board for the most part, and has a trigger than I can use strategically to get around some minor quirks.

Quote Originally Posted by jkircoff View Post
    I also used to own a Besson 967 made in 2002, and it was wicked sharp at the 6th partial and upwards no matter which mouthpiece I used. Unfortunately I believe that was one of Besson's off years when it came to quality control.

I ended up selling it and switching to a Sterling Virtuoso, which has good intonation across the board for the most part, and has a trigger than I can use strategically to get around some minor quirks.