Thread: Has anyone had an experience with Wessex Kaiser Baritone (ER120)?

Has anyone had an experience with Wessex Kaiser Baritone (ER120)?

Hello. This is my first thread here. I normally play bass trombone in a semi-professional community band, but I have also played euphonium and marching baritone, albeit for quite a short time (the instruments belong to my former school band and I play them only when I visit the band as an alumni). I would like to have a euphonium (or the like) of my own. My budget is quite limited; I am just an average salaryman, I don't play or plan to play professionally, and so I don't want to dump large sum of cash into a horn.

That being said, I don't quite like the response of piston valve. I also have a bias toward rotary valve and German instruments in general, maybe partly because I was an exchange student in Germany 10 years ago. But a German-made (or at least German-style) horn is EXPENSIVE.

An additional preference is that I don't quite like switching mouthpiece (or at least the rim diameter). I am also using quite a big bad bassbone mouthpiece (Yamaha Douglas Yeo Signature Model), so switching to small shank mouthpiece would probably be problematic. I have tried a Yamaha 51B and a Bach 3G, the 3G is fine but not great, and the 51B is a disaster (not the mouthpiece itself but it is a bad match for my embrochure and my horn).

So, to sum up the requirements: low-end price, rotary valve, and large shank. A 4th valve would be great. And the Wessex Kaiser Baritone has all of that. (Not quite sure on the large shank one, I've asked but they haven't replied yet, but hopefully) The website also says they ship to all over the world, which is great for me because I am living in Japan right now.

I have searched the forum for a while, but there seems to be no thread on the horn. Has anyone had any experience about it?
    Last edited by sirisobhakya; 03-05-2018 at 05:10 PM.