Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fingering in C or Bb?

1. Fingering in C or Bb?

Hello,

I am an amateur trombone player. I have been playing the trombone for 6 months. It has been 20 years since the last time I played a brass instrument. I learned the CC tuba when I was in high school. Sometimes, I played the euphonium using the CC tuba fingering (Open position = C) and transposing.

Now, I would like to play again a baritone valve instrument like euphonium, baritone horn or valve trombone. My problem or concern is with transposing. For several reasons, I don't want to transpose. I want to finger C and get concert pitch C out of the instrument.

My options are

1. Buy an instrument tuned in C.

2. Re-learn the fingering in Bb (Open position = Bb)

What way would you go? Have you had this problem or concern with transposing or re-learning other fingerings? I would like to know your opinion about this issue.

All the best,
    Sam

Welcome to the forum!

Could you tell us why you want open to be C? Is it because you have really good relative pitch or perfect pitch? Or is it a visual thing, where you see a C and want to play open?

If it is the 2nd reason, then you could learn a euphonium easily if you learned it in treble clef. When a part is in treble clef euphonium, it is transposed so that you see a written C and play it open. But it will still sound as a B-flat. So in treble clef euphonium music, a C scale is fingered just as it was on tuba.
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium

3. Hi,

Thank you. It is an honor to be part of this forum. I learned so much reading your posts.