Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where am I musically?

Where am I musically?

My name is Sara Hood and I am a second time adult student of the Baritone horn. I played in high school, but not for about 20 years after that. About a year ago, I decided to pick it up again, purchased myself a horn, and joined the local Salvation Army Band in Sacramento, CA. I find myself wondering, just how much do I know? How do I rate as a musician? Now as far as tone and music production, I can basically hear the answer to that myself. I think that I will take the money I got for Christmas and get myself some lessons.

But what I am asking myself and having trouble with is music theory (the fundamentals of reading/understanding the technical side of music). I do remember the note names and fingerings (lines and spaces), the note shapes and duration (quarter note = 1 beat, eighth note = half beat, how time signature affects this, etc.) and some of the symbology (treble or base clef, dynamics, tempo, style, etc.). I also have all kinds of other info running around in my head. Key signatures, concert pitches, intervals, some terminology. For example, I know that on a baritone, my C is in fact a concert B-flat. But what that means, or what to do with that knowledge, I don't quite know. I know what a chord is, but not which notes go in which chords, or what a diminished chord is. I know what sharps and flats are, but I don't know which ones belong to which scales/keys. I can basically play in key signatures with up to 4 flats or two sharps. I know there are 15 major keys, so I only have about half of them. I have no clue about what a minor key is though.