Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Looking into the cheaper baritones

1. Looking into the cheaper baritones

I need to pick up a British style baritone for a concert in early December. My budget is around $1000. I have some experience playing Besson, York, and Yamaha horns. My favorite was the Yamaha 4 valve non-compensating horn. It felt easier to switch back and forth to euphonium and the extra valve gave some alternate fingering options.

I looked in the normal places and didn't see a used compensating Besson or York. Plan B was to buy a Wessex BR140. I played one at a convention and I was pretty pleased with how it played. Unfortunately, they are out of stock until late November.

Where do I look next? John Packer seems like a step up from the other Chinese horns. On the other hand, I have read complaints about tuning due to long valve slides. People have mentioned cutting as many as 4 slides to get the horn to play in tune. I am less familiar with the other brands like Schiller and Mack Brass.

I was in a similar situation, and I ordered a 3-valve comp bari from a Chinese vendor on Ebay. It shipped free, but there was a small customs charge that brought the total up to a hair over $600. The horn itself has been quite satisfactory.
    David Bjornstad

1923 Conn New Wonder 86I, Bach 6 1/2 AL
    2018 Wessex EP100 Dolce, Denis Wick 4ABL
    2013 Jinbao JBEP-1111L, Denis Wick 4AM
    2015 Jinbao JBBR-1240, Denis Wick clone mouthpiece of unknown designation
    Cullman (AL) Community Band (Euph Section Leader)
    Brass Band of Huntsville (2nd Bari)