Thread: High School Solo?

High School Solo?

Hey, I'm new to Mr. Werden's site, I've looked at things for a while and decided to register. I'm a high school junior but (and I don't mean it arrogantly) rather accomplished on euphonium for my age. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas for a solo and ensemble contest, I'm taking a solo. I've got a while until the contest. My director recommended Suite for Baritone by Haddad, and my lesson teacher Morceau Symphonique. Any ideas? Comments? Advice?

American Portrait by Buckley, with band.

DG

Welcome to the posting side of the site!

Both pieces you name are good, solid standards in our repertoire. One advantage of Morceau is that you can find many recordings to listen to (including a couple of mine), and you hear some famous trombone players perform it. It's great to have good models as you prepare. The Haddad is less popular in recordings, but there are still a few on YouTube you could listen to.

When I was a junior in HS I played Vincent Bach's Hungarian Melodies, which is still on many contest lists today. I also like Paul Droste's arrangement of "Five Pieces in Folk Style" by Schumann. You could perhaps choose fewer than 5 to perform, depending on the expectations for contest (and naturally you would choose movements that showcase your strengths).
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium

If you're in Texas, there is a nice list of level 1 solos at the UIL website.