Thread: Early Conn E-Flat Tuba Circa 1879-1888

Early Conn E-Flat Tuba Circa 1879-1888

Long story short. I've been sitting on one of these for 40 years keeping it out of trouble thinking it was a cheap economy model Stotzel valve Tuba, was misled years ago by Wolkwein's who just simply were innocent and clueless as to what it was, etc. I was quickly disabused about what I thought it was and I'm still getting over the initial shock when I explored getting it back into shape and playing condition with a great place, a dream I've had since I was a kid.

I'm looking for some thoughts, insight, and knowledge.

I know of three others extant from looking around on the net, are there more? A lot more? Are these "fairly common", scarce as hen's teeth, etc.? Dr. Earll's abstract on the subject of Early Conn Tubas has been enlightening as well as Robb Stewart's discussion on his example on his website.

I'm deeply appreciative of any more knowledge that can be added on this instrument- I'm delving into a lot more than I'd bargained for when I was a 14 year old kid and Mom brought this back from a rural auction thinking it was a Baritone because of it's small size for a Tuba.

Thank you so kindly in advance!