Thread: Schilke 51D to SM5

1. Schilke 51D to SM5

Hello everyone!

I am a high school student who recently switched from a Schilke 51D to a SM5. The rim is substantially smaller, and mouthpiece pressure is beginning to be a problem. The cup diameter is also bigger. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to stop this problem and adapt to this piece better? Thank you!

Welcome to the forum!

I strongly suspect that it is the rim shape, rather than its width, that is troubling you. In my experience the new rim should feel more normal in a few weeks. How long have you had the SM5?
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium

3. Around a week, I switched from trumpet to euphonium (change of heart) around 6 months ago. I've been successful so far, and figured I'd give the piece a go.

Ah, then it's too soon to worry! Just keep practicing carefully - don't beat your chops, but rather build them slowly and gradually. I think you'll get there.
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium

5. Thank you!

6. Sorry, one more question. Would you object to this piece in terms of the diameter? Or is it a good fit for a seasoned brass player picking up euphonium.