Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A different question regarding range and the high G

A different question regarding range and the high G

Hi all.

I'm pretty new to euphonium and I've come across an interesting problem. While working on improving range, I've come to realize that I am having considerable difficulty getting a high (3rd ledger line BC) G. Not because of lip fatigue, but because the note is so finicky. I typically overshoot but I can't gradually slide into the G. No matter how slow I take it, I somehow just skip over the partial completely. I've tried pressing all three valves, working up to the partial, and then working chromatically to the G. G-flat and A are not a problem, at least not more of a problem than I'd expect at my skill level. It's just this particular note is so freakishly picky.

Now I have gotten the G and I've even been able to hold it, but I'll lose it if I so much as move an eyebrow. The only embrochure that's ever worked is so different from my "normal" one (suddenly have to switch to upper lip dominance when I don't need to for any other notes, including higher ones) that this CAN'T be right.

Is getting this note down a typical newbie problem? I know some notes are a bear to get right on certain instruments. But nothing has given me this much trouble before. I have been trying to sound this note for weeks and it's not an exaggeration to say I've seen absolutely no improvement on this. I don't know what to do outside of talking to a teacher, or at least a more experianced player, in person. I guess I'm just wondering if I'm not the only one who's struggled with this.

No, you're not the only one! Our instruments are finicky all by themselves, and each has its own quirks. AND our embouchures are also finicky to some extent.