Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help! Info on proffesional grade euphoniums!

Help! Info on professional grade euphoniums!

I am a high school student about to jump into college. I would like to be able to play Euphonium in a proffesional setting and would like a proffesional(ish) grade Euphonium that will play well and really sing. Most of my solos or high ranged so I need an instrument that is solid through all partials. I've been looking and gettting an old Besson New Standard 1960-1970 serviced but I wanted time outside opinions. My budget is $4000 max and I really don't want a Yamaha, I don't mind them but they are too vanilla and pedestrian for my liking. Thank you!
    Last edited by Timebust; 07-02-2017 at 12:50 AM.

I'm a huge fan of the packer line. I played that, the Adams, willson, yamaha, and the besson at TMEA in February, and liked the packer better than all of them except for the Adams. I wound up getting the 274s for way less than $2000. The 374 is more expensive, and I think it has a trigger, but I couldn't detect many other differences that made it worth the extra money

For you budget you should be able to find a good deal on a really nice besson or even a willson, but be careful, Besson went through a time when quality control was terrible,and it's still difficult to get parts for them

Summerfield, Florida Sturgis, SD (summers)