Thread: Stepping Up

Stepping Up

I am a sophomore in high school, and I am going to study music in college. I am currently playing on an accent amateur euphonium (3 Valve) and am in great need of an upgrade in the near future. I was wondering if I should invest in a full on professional horn like a Besson or Adams and hope it lasts through the rest of my schooling, or take a "stepping stone" somewhere in the middle with something like a JP Sterling or King 2280. Or is something like a Wessex or Mack Brass a good option for a student?

As you all can tell I have no experience with any instrument other than my own, so I can use all the help I can get.

Thanks for the help!

I'm pretty sure you'll get different recommendations from different forum members. I might suggest that you consider what you call a 'stepping stone' upgrade. If you get a King 2280, JP Sterling or Wessex, it would serve you well through high school and the start of college. Then when you're in college and think you need a better horn (or your professor thinks so), you could get a top level horn and sell that 'step up' horn. Just my 2 cents worth.
    Rick Floyd
    Miraphone 5050 - Warburton BJ / RF mpc
    YEP-641S (recently sold)
    Doug Elliott - 102 rim; I-cup; I-9 shank

"Always play with a good tone, never louder than lovely, never softer than supported." - author unknown.
    Symphonic Band of the Palm Beaches
    El Cumbanchero (Raphael Hernandez, arr. Naohiro Iwai)
    Chorale and Shaker Dance
    (John Zdechlik)

Summerfield, Florida Sturgis, SD (summers)
    I pretty much agree with Rick. I do think I would tend to opt for a compensating horn, so that might make your choice a Wessex or JP Sterling. I think the Wessex would be the most bang for the buck.
    John Morgan
    The U.S. Army Band (Pershing's Own) 1971-1976
    Adams E3 Custom Series Euphonium, 1956 B&H Imperial Euphonium,
    1973 F. E. Olds & Son Studio Model T-31 Baritone