Thread: Need to improve on Euph, but how?

1. Need to improve on Euph, but how?

So I am a sophomore in high school, and I play a Wessex "Dolce" EP100SG. I want to improve, and I've made it very clear to my BD that I want to, and she is trying to help, but is just giving me information I've already found (she wasn't a brass person) and I've been considering buying a method book. I've been recommended Arban's, Clarke's, Koppasch, and others. Will this be helpful in producing what I want to do with my horn, or should I take classes (or attempt to, there's most likely no one who teaches Euph in the area) and proceed from there.

Here's a list of what I've been told:
    Method Books
    Solos
    Competitions
    Learn additional clefs (aside from treble and bass)
    Listen to soloists
    Look for a community band
    Scales and chromatic scales
    Transposition
    Sight-Reading
    Do long tones and pedals

I have a stable range from G1-C5, and I can extend that to Db1 and G5, but it's extremely unstable. I play bass clef, but say most of my things in treble (I've gotten used to it, I am the only bass clef reader in my section) and I read both. My major scales are fine, I play most of them daily, and my minor scales are not the best, I only know A and F minor.

Summerfield, Florida Sturgis, SD (summers)
    You seem to have a good grasp of some very useful ideas and materials to use for your study. The Arbans, especially the new spiral bound one with comments by Alessi and Bowman, is excellent. Learning scales and playing them in many different styles, articulations, multiple octaves, fast, slow, slurred, tongued, etc. are great. Add arpeggios as well. Learn the minors (natural, melodic and harmonic). Get it so they are second nature. Work on tonguing: single, double and triple. Find some solos that use a lot of double or triple tonguing. Work on lip trills and slurs, every day, religiously.