Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sterling vs Willson

1. Sterling vs Willson

Hello,

I'm pretty new to the forums, but I've been playing euphonium for about 35 years...
    I'm looking for a new (to me) horn and weighing my options. I currently have a non-compensating Besson 765 that I like, but I'm really tired of fighting with some of the intonation issues.
    I played a Willson 2900 in college and had a King 2280 in high school. I liked the Willson, but I also usually prefer the "British" euphonium sound. Currently, most of my playing is in a Concert/Symphonic band setting...
    I know the best way to select a new instrument is to play a lot of different ones, but that is pretty difficult to do. Especially because my budget has me looking for a used instead of a new horn.
    All that being said, I have been spending a lot of time reading the forums and researching different brands. I'm still very skeptical about buying from eBay without playing the horn, but that seems to be kind of where I'm at currently.
    So... Does anybody have any thoughts on comparing the following horns?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/361871970417...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

http://www.ebay.com/itm/152413174977...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

http://www.ebay.com/itm/252744788606...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I think that the Sterling probably has more of the sound I'm looking for, but I've never played one. Also, do the dents in the valve tubing of the Sterling look like they could be removed?
    Additionally, I've considered the Wessex Dolce, but it still seems like the Besson/Willson/Sterling/Adams are better horns.
    Since I can't easily play any of these, I'm looking for any and all opinions you can give. Also, other than a new Adams, is there anything else I should be considering? Anybody have an Adams they want to sell??? LOL.

Thanks!
    Doug

2. Doug,

Here is a quick summary: