Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Buying a tuba tomorrow

1. Buying a tuba tomorrow

Last year I decided to learn an instrument. I have a music degree in theory and composition and taught school choirs for many years before a long stint as a school administrator. Never learned an instrument until last year.

Last December I bought a King 2280 Euphonium and started practicing almost every day since. I've played some in community bands and a few solos in church. When I started, I used treble clef because I played French Horn in jr. hi and, so, knew those fingerings. I told myself to wait a year and then start playing in bass clef. The year is up.

Tomorrow I'm buying a tuba. I have a friend who is a tuba pro and long time school band director who has convinced me I will enjoy the tuba.

I'm fairly credible on easy bass clef music (hymns and Christmas carols), but have a hard time with anything harder. When I'm reading bass clef, I'm actually transposing the music in my head. Anything that is at all difficult throws me off entirely.

So, finally, a few questions. How best do I get out of the habit of transposing when I'm playing bass clef? I've got the Tuba Arban's ordered and suspect I just need to practice, practice practice, but other suggestions will be appreciated. Also, is there any technique to starting the Tuba and keeping my Euphonium embouchure? Finally, I enjoyed trying different mouthpieces on my Euphonium. I'm not sure what mouthpiece will be on the Tuba I'm buying. Any suggestions for a Tuba mouthpiece? I'm playing a 51D and a Wick 4ab on my Euphonium depending on the music I'm playing. I play the 51D most of the time because of the better tone I get. I play the Wick when I play something with a high tessitura.

Thanks, KKORO