Thread: High Notes

1. High Notes

I've been using a Yamaha 47 in my community band because I have a number of high concert G, A and Bb's. The Yamaha 47 gives me more confidence to hit the high notes, but I don't like the tone very much.

I have a Schilke 51D that produces a much better tone. Lately, I've been hitting the high notes much better with the Schilke than I was when I started playing a couple of months ago. I'm to the point that I'm going to start using the Schilke for the community band.

My question is, can I expect the high notes to come easier

2. Quote Originally Posted by KKORO View Post
    My question is, can I expect the high notes to come easier
    Yes! Takes time, development of embouchure musculature, AIR!!!!!, and practice.

I am now 64 years old and have been playing for 55 years. I normally play a Wick 4AL these days, but played a Bach 12 thru elementary school and most of high school. I switched to a Bach 6 1/2 AL (Yamaha 48 equivalent) in college, and continued with that mouthpiece until I was 29 years old. As a younger player in HS and college, my range was basically Low F (concert Eb) to Eb (concert Db) above high C. Then I bought my first Besson Sovereign in 1980 and it came with a Wick 4AL. It took several years before I could play the Wick comfortably across my usable range. In the last 7 years, due to daily practice under the guidance of a good private teacher, my usable range has improved both up and down, now extending from pedal F to high F (Treble Clef), a 4 octaves range.
    Adams E3 0.60 Sterling bell - Prototype top sprung valves
    Concord Band
    Winchendon Winds
    Townsend Military Band