Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trombone Doubling Issues

Unhappy Trombone Doubling Issues

Hey all! I'm in quite a pickle here, but I'll try to best explain my situation without this turning into too large of a wall of text.

Some background.

I'm a fairly young euphonium player, certainly not pro by any standards. I've been playing for about 12 years, and up until very recently did not have a private teacher. Finding my current teacher has helped me set what I feel are reasonable goals.

The issue:

Several months ago I switched from a mouthpiece I was using for about 2 years. I'm not a gear guy by any stretch of the imagination; I think it's fascinating, but I generally just use what works. Well, I THOUGHT the mouthpiece I was using was great. Every every show though, and after about an hour of playing, my lips always...burned? I know now that it wasn't a normal burn from exhaustion; it actually stung. My lips went through a cycle of bruising, swelling and fire and I assumed it was because I needed to build endurance. That all changed a year ago when my teacher let me borrow one of his. I'll never forget when I used it for the first time; it felt like heaven! Apparently my face didn't really like the rim. Who knew!

The point to all of that is now I'm experiencing the same symptom, but for a different reason. I've recently tried to integrate trombone playing into my practice routine. I felt I couldn't call it a double instrument at the level I play it at. I found a horn I really liked and...