Thread: Advice on buying a new euph

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. Advice on buying a new euph

I've been playing the euphonium with the same beaten up, non-compensating three valve yamaha euph since I started in 6th grade. As I plan to play in college next year, I'd like to get rid of my current horn and purchase a compensating four valve (probably used and 3+1). Does anyone have any advice as to what I should buy and how I should sell my current euph?

Some notes: I'm not a hardcore player, I won't be majoring in a music field, and as a future college student I probably don't have the money for the absolute best. I just need something decent. My current horn is also at school right now, so I can find out the exact model later if that seems relevant.

Thanks for any potential help!

Welcome to the forum! I think you'll find there is a wealth of knowledge in the pages, so I encourage you to browse the "Euph Brands" section for starters. There is quite a bit there about some very fine and inexpensive alternatives these days.

You did not mention your budget; that would be helpful.

For about $1,200 you can get a new Wessex 4-valve compensating euphonium. Look at some of the threads about Wessex and you'll find both the instrument and the customer service are really fine.

For under a thousand it's a little more tricky. You could pick up a used horn at that price, but a decent compensating is challenging to find at that price. You can buy some of the other Chinese clones, but you lose the quality control and extra design features of the Wessex. Still some of our members have reported good results.
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium