Thread: Mvt. 3 of Soliloquies

1. Mvt. 3 of Soliloquies

Hello!
    I'm a freshman in high school and my band director decided that I was good enough to play in our annual solo hall, which I was happy about until I saw the piece I had to prepare. The 3rd movement of Soliloquies, a fun piece that also happens to be ridiculously difficult for me. The range isn't a problem, its just getting all of the time signature changes correct and achieving the jumps. I wanted to ask if anyone had any tips on practicing this piece, as I have no clue on where to start. I've been taking it around 60 BPM just to get it under my fingers and have been relatively successful. However the piece is written at 196+, and in certain spots I can't seem to get it right, such as the large jumps or the triplet sixteenth runs. If anyone had any tips it'd be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
    Chris Harrison

Hi Chris,

I don't know the piece specifically, but in general, here's how I'd approach it:

1. Identify your problems. Sounds like you've got a good handle on this already. That said, look through the piece and see where the same problem is occurring multiple times. You'd be surprised how often the same problem can crop up in multiple spots.
    2. Isolate your problems. For example, with the time changes, practice counting the measures separate from the music (and the horn) until you understand them. For skips and scales, practice them separately from the music.
    3. Find complementary exercises. If you use a book like the Arban method, find exercises that look similar to your trouble spots and work them too.
    4. Put it together, but slowly at first. Once the pieces (time signatures, scales, skips, etc.) are starting to feel comfortable, start taking sections of the music slowly, then increase the tempo gradually as you repeat them. The point is to be accurate on every repetition while picking up speed.