Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Her First Euphonium

Her First Euphonium

Hi, everyone!

After 6 years playing school owned Euphoniums, our HS Junior has asked for her own, and she's proven her commitment to the instrument! Her favorite was a Besson compensating horn her middle school had in their inventory, but we're finding that used compensating Besson's are hard to come by. I'm not a musician, so I'm uncomfortably lost in this search, but I was very relieved to come across fellow-retired Coast Guardsman Dave's site.

We're trying to avoid the cost of a new horn, but we realize they hold their value well, so we're resigned to close-to-new prices. We live in Charleston, SC, so we've also come to realize traveling will be necessary to try and buy. Chicago, New York, Baltimore and Nashville the most musical towns we can fly direct to. If you know of a used Besson around you, we'll be there as soon as we can. If not, what else should we consider? Any other advice for us?

Thank you!

2. I live in Texas, and have a Besson Prestige. I'd like to think that I take extremely good care of the instrument. If I get it professionally cleaned I can comfortably say that the horn's quality is like new (No cosmetic damages, valves work perfectly, slides move with minimal force, main tuning slide is as smooth as a trombone slide). The horn is about 28 months old and I've been using a Cronkhite bag so if you look up close the silver is a little discolored. If you're interested, I'd be happy to send pictures and what not.

Hello, best part of playing is the excitement of finding that next horn! I got my pro-level used horn from Dillon Music in NJ. Did it all online. They have a 14 day test period where you can return for shipping costs if you dont like it. They always have new horns, but occasionally have good used horns. I checked and at the moment they have two nice Yamaha 642s, no Besson. You could call them and see if they can hunt one down; they were really good to work with.