Thread: Recommendations of music?

Recommendations of music?

Hi there

I've been playing brass for nearly 20 years, and Euphonium for most of them, but recently I've been playing a lot less and been feeling less motivated to play. I've realised one of the reasons for this is the music I have available to me; much of it either feels too basic and dull, or is gratuitously complicated without being enjoyable to play and master. Given that I'm a competent player (I started working on a diploma a few years ago, but found I hadn't the time to put into it to make it worthwhile), and some of the most enjoyable music I've played have been several beautiful soaring melodies by Horowitz and Vaughan Williams, does anyone have any suggestions? I'm not particularly bothered about playing music that was written for euph, but more about music that is enjoyable to play on it...

Cheers in anticipation

Sam

Welcome to the forum, Sam!

I understand your frustration, believe me! In my current position I can play pretty much whatever I'm in the mood to play. I've done a bunch of videos over the last few years that fall into that category. Check out my channel on Youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/user/dwerden/videos

In many cases if you open the full description you'll find a link to get the music. The music is mostly playable by most euphoniumists, but there are some tough ones in the mix, too.

Your frustration is one of several reasons I put together a new etude book, which Cimarron Music should have ready in the next couple of months. These etudes are a bit more interesting than some you may have run across before (along the lines of the Rochut, but I like these better overall).
    Dave Werden (ASCAP)
    Euphonium Soloist, U.S. Coast Guard Band, retired
    Adams Artist (Adams E3)
    Alliance Mouthpiece (DC3)
    YouTube: dwerden
    Facebook: davewerden
    Twitter: davewerden
    Instagram: davewerdeneuphonium

Hi Dave