Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Euphonium Care

New to Euphonium Care

I play flute, so I know zip about how to care for any brass instrument. Of course, my two boys have chosen to play euphonium and trumpet this year so I feel like I need to learn something soon. In reading the euphonium forums over the last few days, I keep seeing references to bathtubs and oiling and things I have no experience with and must admit that I'm feeling a little intimidated! I don't yet know if we will rent or purchase, but am hoping to find something at a decent price to buy if I can.

What are some good resources discussing the care and feeding of a euphonium? My younger son is nearly 10 and not the most careful child in the world so I feel like he's going to need some very specific instruction on how to keep the instrument nice in the long-run, especially if we find one inexpensive enough to purchase.

Texas, where every thing is bigger & BETTER
    Whatever you do, don't let your music store persuade you to buy a "instrument starter care kit".
    Valve oil:Blue Juice, Hetman, and Al Class are some of the more popular valve oils. I know Blue Juice offers a 8 oz. bottle that you can use to refill smaller bottles with. If both of your sons use Blue Juice, get the 8 oz.,use pliers to pull off the little dripping nozzle, and just refill.

Slide grease: A jar of petroleum jelly/ Vaseline does a good job on slides. Vaseline and a drop of valve oil make a smooth kick slide on the trumpet.

Any cleaning/polishing cloth will do just fine.

a Bach 6 1/2 AL is a good mouthpiece to start with on euph. A Bach 7C is a good starter on trumpet.

Get a little mouthpiece brush and clean his mouthpiece every once in a while.

Most schools offer rentals for euphs. I would wait to purchase a euph because who knows if your son will stick to band? Also, your son would probably benefit from getting a more advanced horn once he hits high school.