Thread: The Yahama 621 baritone

1. The Yahama 621 baritone

I am a 75 year old amateur and thinking of buying a new Yahama 621 baritone. Any thoughts or experience with this horn? Thanks.

YEP-621 or YBH-621?

Quote Originally Posted by bbocaner View Post
    YEP-621 or YBH-621?
    For those of you wondering the difference:

The YEP-621 is in reference to the Euphonium (YEP is Yamaha's code for Euph). It is currently discontinued.

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/music...niums/yep-621/

The YBH-621 is Yamaha's 3+1 Baritone (YBH is their Baritone code). It is also discontinued, and I believe the Neo is it's successor.

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/music...tones/ybh-621/

4. The Yamaha 621

Quote Originally Posted by Msan1313 View Post
    For those of you wondering the difference:

The YEP-621 is in reference to the Euphonium (YEP is Yamaha's code for Euph). It is currently discontinued.

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/music...niums/yep-621/

The YBH-621 is Yamaha's 3+1 Baritone (YBH is their Baritone code). It is also discontinued, and I believe the Neo is it's successor.

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/music...tones/ybh-621/
    I'm considering is the YBH baritone horn

I don't like it for brass band use. It's got a really small bore and bell compared to every other baritone out there. It's basically a "student" YBH-301 with a fourth valve tacked on. You can compensate to some extent with a little bit larger mouthpiece, but it just doesn't get the right timbre. If you are looking at it more as a light and portable instrument to practice on, it's not bad -- pretty easy to play.

The YBH-831 Neo is a fantastic instrument, though. Amazing sound and very easy to play. Only three valves, though.
    Last edited by bbocaner; 03-28-2015 at 10:26 PM.

What Barry said.

I have a 621 Baritone...I use it (with a Wick 5 mpc) to play very high french horn parts in my brass quintet, for which my 321 euphonium that I usually use is too much sound.