Thread: General Questions about playing baritone

General Questions about playing baritone

Hello all,

My recently acquired Salvation Army Triumphonic baritone has arrived and I'm ready to start getting into the art of playing a british baritone. By trade, I am a euphonium player and having to play such a small instrument as baritone takes some getting used to. For the experienced baritone players of this forum, what are some general tips you can give me in order to get used to the horn and not try to play it like a euphonium? How should I approach playing baritone in general? What are some ways to get the characteristic sound and get the intonation in check? Any and all tips are appreciated! I pretty much know nothing!

Thank you!

Kyle Aufderhar

1982 Besson Imperial 767 euphonium (Giddings and Webster Carbonaria)
    1966 Salvation Army Triumphonic baritone (Doug Elliott, LT 100 rim, F cup, F3xs shank)

Lafayette Concert Band
    Acadian Wind Symphony
    University of Louisiana-Lafayette Wind Ensemble

Now the fun starts! You might look at this:

http://www.dwerden.com/forum/entry.p...ing-Intonation

As far as tone, the horn is much smaller than a euphonium and needs to be "blown" differently. A little faster air stream will probably help (like blowing out a candle, while a euphonium wants the kind of air stream you use when warming your hands (that's over-simplified and exaggerated, but it might help you think of the concept). Mostly, trust the little horn to tell you what it wants. Don't over-blow it; relax with it and listen to what it wants to produce. Listen to a good trombonist play some slow melodies and try to work in that direction.