Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Another Adams thread

1. Another Adams thread

I don't know if this forum needs another "I just got an Adams" thread, but just like others in the same situation, I am excited about it and wanted to share my experience so far. My perspective may be a little different than others since I am an amateur. One can argue whether it is "appropriate" for someone like me to invest in a high-end instrument (which was discussed recently in another thread), but at this point I have no regrets.

This instrument is the .60 mm E1 lacquered brass with sterling silver bell. From others' descriptions that seems to be the most often preferred model. I have always said that with this sort of thing that one should "try before you buy" but I did not follow my own advice. I kind of came upon it by "accident", as I was inquiring about another instrument that was advertised on the Tuba Exchange website. The one I bought had been returned by a previous customer and had "tiny nicks" in the bell, which was good of them to disclose, but quite honestly it took me some time to find the defect--it is trivial in my opinion. But that plus the fact that it was a return was an opportunity for a really good deal that I felt was too good to pass on.

**This brings me to a question which hopefully someone can address... It was described to me as .60 mm and I have no reason to think that it is not, but I was wondering how would one verify this, i.e. is the metal thickness stamped on the instrument somewhere?

It arrived un-damaged via truck on a pallet with a HUGE box (which apparently at one time housed a Chinese C Tuba), and the case was suspended in the interior of the box by several cubic feet of foam. It would have been hard to damage the instrument in that box even if you tried. That, plus other impressions I got from Tuba Exchange in my limited experience dealing with them would make me inclined to recommend them.