Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My new euphonium!

My new euphonium!

I started playing the baritone horn when I was 7, and moved up to a Yamaha 321 when I was 12. I upgraded to the Willson 2900 when I turned 15, and unfortunately had to end my career due to an arm injury while I was studying music performance at Ithaca College. I hadn't played a euphonium since 1999, and missed it every day.

Last month, I spent a few hours at Dillon Music and ended up purchasing a John Packer 274S. It literally brought tears to my eyes to play again, and this is such a beautiful horn! The intonation is terrific, the tone is dark and rich, the fit and finish is flawless.

I've had the horn for a month now, and joined a local community band. It's such a great feeling to be playing again and to be reunited with this instrument that I love so much.
    Erich Beyrent - Sandown, NH USA
    Euphonium - John Packer 274S

2. Congratulations on your new horn! It's great to hear positive reports on the JP 274S and glad you are enjoying your return to making and performing music.
    Bob Tampa FL USA
    Euph -- 1984 B&H Round Stamp Sovereign 967 / 1978 Besson NS 767 / Early 90s Sterling MP: 4AL and GW Carbonaria
    Tuba -- 2014 Wisemann 900 CC / 2013 Mack 410 MP: Blokepiece Symphony American Shank and 33.2 #2 Rim

Congratulations on the new horn and to be back in an ensemble playing again. Enjoy!

4. Eric--I wrote you after reading your post but haven't heard from you. I also bought a JP274, which I also love, but am still trying to figure out the best way to lift the horn about 2 inches. It's too heavy to hold high enough without help.
    What are you doing to lift yours? Thanks. Little Jimmy

Quote Originally Posted by LittleJimmy View Post
    Eric--I wrote you after reading your post but haven't heard from you. I also bought a JP274, which I also love, but am still trying to figure out the best way to lift the horn about 2 inches. It's too heavy to hold high enough without help.