Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on grad school

1. Thoughts on grad school

I'm an undergrad performance student and I'm looking into grad school, specifically in Europe. Even more specific, I'm wanting to go to the Nordic area and I'm also thinking about Germany and surrounding areas. I need suggestions to help build up my list. Thanks!

2. Norway-Tormod Flaten
    Finland-Jukka Myllys
    Switzerland-Thomas Ruedi

All are world class.

German is easier to learn than Norwegian or (especially!) Finnish. While there are various bizarre cantonal dialects of German in Switzerland, you can always make High German work -- or French, depending on where you are. In addition, the Swiss learn German, French, and English in school. So mostly you can get along in English as well. Switzerland is also centrally located and so travel (by good trains) to France, Austria, Germany, Italy, etc. is quite straightforward and not expensive.

Just some non-musical and non-academic considerations .
    Gary Merrill
    Wessex EEb Bass tuba (DW 3XL or 2XL)
    Mack Brass Compensating Euph (DE N106, Euph J, J9 euph)
    Amati Oval Euph (DE 104, Euph J, J6 euph)
    1924 Buescher 3-valve Eb tuba (with std US receiver), Kelly 25
    Schiller American Heritage 7B clone bass trombone (DE LB K/K10/112/14 Lexan, Brass Ark MV50R)
    1947 Olds "Standard" trombone (Olds #3)

4. After interacting with Gary, the 2 Daves, Jim, and Doug, I'm pretty sure I'm the least intelligent person here. : ) Would love to get you guys together for a live bull session and just sit back and learn.

Roland Froescher is also in Switzerland. Brilliant player, great teacher.

Quote Originally Posted by ghmerrill View Post
    German is easier to learn than Norwegian or (especially!) Finnish.

*snip*