Thread: Tuba Student

1. Tuba Student

Hey guys! First of all I'm a new member here so I'm hoping I'm posting in the correct sub-forum. I'm a freshman Music Ed and Music Performance major and I have recently been hired as a low brass instructor in my local town. and I have one student and he is a tuba player. He's a middle school tuba player but has a real problem playing down in the low register (even normal low B flat is hard for him to get out). I've told him to put more air through the horn and it helped out a little bit. What other suggestions do you guys have? Thanks for the help!

Daniel

Hi,

I would watch his posture to make sure he isn't creating problems (i.e. sitting up straight and not at awkward angle, etc.) Also, is he getting a full breath? I would highly recommend lots of long tones and etudes such as Bordogni where the focus is more on sound and musicality and less on technique. Have him work on the syllables of "doh" instead of "tah" on both his attacks and intake of air and have him start thinking about producing a beautiful sound. When you say he is a middle school player that tells me he is new to the instrument. (Most of the schools in our area begin in Middle School). One problem I've noticed with beginning players is that they aren't spending enough time on the horn and definitely don't spend enough time playing long tones. (I have one son in Middle School Band and one who is a freshman in high school) I've noticed with my son's Euphonium playing that the more time he spends on "sound" vs "Technique" that I can really hear a difference in his playing. There certainly needs to be a balance of both. I wish you well. David

I presume that you've already checked the horn to determine that IT isn't a problem.

Then just two recommendations:

1. Long tones -- working on descending to lower ones. But work on them slowly to the point that a given note can be produced immediately with correct embouchure.