Thread: What should I do?

1. What should I do?

Hello I'm in the 7th grade and started beginner band this year. I've some experience with music from piano and guitar. My band director is making a new jazz band in the spring and I'd like to join FYI I'm coming along real fast. I asked him about it and he said he never had a euphonium in a jazz band. So I thought about trying trombone to get in but I didn't want to have to have to learn slide positions I wanted to keep the valves. I also wanted to stay in the bass clef and didn't want to play tuba. So I'm wondering if there's any instrument I could play that sounds like a trombone but has valves?

Hi Gus. Welcome to the forum. You should know that there are valve trombones available. Search online and you'll find more information on these. For serious jazz players though I think having a slide it necessary. You can't hardly gliss with valves.

Read this discussion thread on the Trombone forum:

Valve Trombone vs. Slide Trombone
    Rick Floyd
    Miraphone 5050 - Warburton BJ / RF mpc
    YEP-641S (recently sold)
    Doug Elliott - 102 rim; I-cup; I-9 shank

"Always play with a good tone, never louder than lovely, never softer than supported." - author unknown.
    Symphonic Band of the Palm Beaches
    El Cumbanchero (Raphael Hernandez, arr. Naohiro Iwai)
    Chorale and Shaker Dance
    (John Zdechlik)

A valve trombone is fun, but for a jazz band section that are accepted well enough in younger grades and more frowned on as you get older. Your held notes will sound like the slide trombones, mostly, but as you play moving passages you will sound different. A couple well-regarded professional jazz soloists specialize in valve trombone, but they are unusual and don't typically play in a section.

Having said that...

You have a range of options.