Thread: YEP 642 as compared to 642 Neo

1. YEP 642 as compared to 642 Neo

Hello, I'm (as you might have guessed) looking into getting a compensating euphonium over the holidays. I've always had an interest in Yamaha because of their quality control standards and nice, focused euphonium sounds, but I have run into a snag. I have looked into (and test played) the YEP 642, but I have also studied up on the Neo. Sadly, I have not had an opportunity to test play a Neo, so I was wondering how large the difference in sound, intonation, and response is from someone who has played both. Any recordings comparing the two side by side would be appreciated as well since I cannot find any. Finally, any potential issues (such as the thin, fragile valve casings) that are common with the Neo would be useful information.
    In short, I need to know if the differences warrant the large price jump.

Also, for some background, I am a Junior in high school. I have been playing euphonium for 6 years and am currently on a YEP 321. My teacher and I have talked about compensators for about two years now; he believes I will need one to major in performance in college. I have asked him about the comparison, but he has not played a Neo and doesn't have access to one.

Texas, where every thing is bigger & BETTER