Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Arban's Practise & Warmup.

Arban's Practise & Warmup.

I own the Arban's Complete Conservatory Method book (big silver version), and was just wondering which exercises is a must in my routine to become better overall. Also some good warmups in there would be greatly appreciated!

2. I am not a professional player, but could make a suggestion. Someone else on here recommended some warm-ups from Emory Remington. I don't have a link for it handy, but did an internet search and was able to find it and print it. I have been using this as a warm-up for a few months and it really seems to be helping. With time I have found that I can play with less pressure on the mouthpiece, which helps everything else.

I've been watching this thread and waiting for the responses ... and waiting ...

My curiosity stems from the fact that several years ago I bought a copy of Arban (for tuba). Not cheap, but everyone pays homage to it as the "must have" method/technique book. I discovered that I use it very little and feel that I benefit much more from other things. I do use it now and then, briefly, and for just some of the exercises. And I suppose that I can understand an instructor saying "Get Arban and we'll go through it, and it will prepare you for things to follow." (But I wonder if this is really how it's used.)

Otherwise, I find it to be a huge collection of often menial exercises (repeated in every possible key), and missing certain critical things that I want (e.g., serious and programmatic exercises for range extension, and exercises that go beyond what might be thought of as the most commonly expected range for the instrument). Were I to face the choice again, I don't believe I'd buy it, but would put my money into other things (like Bordogni vocalises, Blazevich, Rochut, etc.).

So I am curious how many people actually use it, and how heavily. Maybe I'm just missing out on something important.
    Gary Merrill